Río Bravo Missions Trip

nenems

I am writing this blog as a requirement for a current class. I will be volunteering as interpreter for a group of American missionaries in the city of Río Bravo, a border town in Mexico, and will be sharing my experience as posts here.

Our goal is to impart VBS (Vacation Bible School) in eight different locations in town and its surroundings. For three days we will visit homes, inviting the children to come to learn songs, to hear Bible stories and to eat a small snack with us. Twice every day we walk the dusty dirt streets with the neighborhood  kids as we hold their small, rough hands, they lead us to invite their friends in other homes. When we come back together, to the location destined for the VBS (normally a house’s small garage or an open space under a tree), the children sit on the concrete floor or on bed sheets on the arid ground.

After paying with them for a little while, we then start with the stories, songs, and then crafts.  I have come to realize that an international language does exists! And even when different cultures and languages have differences in communication and meanings of gestures and hand motions. Genuine love and godliness can be sensed across countries and language barriers.

 

575920_10200994344880168_1316589330_n

(My dear friend is teaching on the left and that is me on the right, translating for her)

Even from the start, I had the privilege of translating for the leadership of the team as they figured out the last details before the VBS started. They humility and humbleness of both parties as they communicated taught me the importance of honoring and caring for the way we interact with our teammates and project authorities in  order to be more efficient in our service to others. After praying and dedicating our actions and efforts of the day to God we started teaching the children. Even the parents would come sometimes! They got to hear the gospel message as well, may God bring forth fruit of repentance in the lives in which the Word was sown.

Seeing the children in need of basic school supplies and minimal family support and protection was heart breaking to me, I have always known that such a lack existed, but to see it and hold the little eager hands was so touching. I am convinced I want to give my life for the orphan, for the poor.

A friend of mine recently commented that she was impacted by the way I care so deeply about the kids in my own country, and that sometimes it takes for us to go out to other countries to get out of our comfort zone and help others. As she commended me, I was challenged to be even more caring and passionate about loving and working with all my heart to bless those closest to me in proximity, my fellow countrymen.

I look forward to the days to come. These children are so precious! And I am so  honored to be part of what God is doing in these communities.

2 thoughts on “Río Bravo Missions Trip

  1. Nice summary of your trip! What is the main income source in that villiage? Farming? Do the children there normally attend school?

  2. The main income source in Río Bravo comes from the assembly of electronic goods. Factories and manufacturers employ a great part of the working force in the border towns.
    While there are schools available, many children do not attend. Due to the parents’ poor administration of acquired income, the children’s monetary contribution to the family plays a significant role. Their work if often of more value to the family than their studies.
    Thank you for asking questions!

Leave a Reply

