Little sparrows

bird

{painting source}

“And do not be afraid…Are not two little sparrows sold for a penny? And yet not one of them will fall to the ground without your Father’s leave (consent) and notice…Fear not, then; you are of more value than many sparrows.” (From Matthew 10)

Yesterday I went out for a jog, I was praying, daydreaming, watching the shadows get longer when I almost stepped on a sparrow. It was sitting on the dirt floor. Still as if waiting for something.
As some of you know, I do not really like animals, but I toyed with the idea of taking it home maybe my sisters would take care of it. If it was sick, at least it would not die on an empty stomach. And so I picked it up protecting my hands with a couple of leaves. As soon as I bent to pick it up, the verses above resounded loud and clear in my mind. He cares, God is in control, God sees and knows and cares about the biggest and the tiniest things in my life. He cares.
The little creature stayed on my palm for about 20 minutes, I walked for a few more minutes, it never fussed or tried to fly away, as if it trusted me. Afterwards as we were walking towards the car, my dad suggested that I’d try to make it fly. Bobbing my hand up and down it would only flap its wings and return to its calm seating  position.  “Higher, let it drop!” It would land flat I though. But I did, it worked. The bird flew away, strong and steady to land on a high tree branch.

Thank you God for that wonderful lesson. I trust You. Thank you for caring. I needed that…You know I did.

One thought on “Little sparrows

  1. Dear Girl! I LOVED having you share the “sparrow story” with me today on the phone. <3 Such a precious thought to think of how much HE CARES for us. <3 I love you!

Leave a Reply

