Mentor

Mentor [men-tawr, -ter]

1. a trusted counselor or guide
2. a wise and trusted counselor or teacher.

raspy

So I looked for mentor quotes or poems. I couldn’t find any that will do justice describing what you mean to me and what God has done in my life through you. I could post this on a special birth day of yours, on your wedding, or on a really rough time in your life; a dramatic day of joy or sorrow. But no, on a regular day like today, I want dear friend, to post this to thank you. To say I smile every time I think about you.

Since we met in 2005, I have grown to trust and value you deeply. I have enjoyed greatly every single day we’ve spent together. Every conversation we’ve had has taught me more about holiness and what spiritual maturity and surrender look like.

I realize how blessed I am that you, Raspy (the most amazing Bethany) are my friend. A truly special and unique friend. One that I will forever cherish in my heart. In you I have, a dear sister, a fun companion, a trusted confident, a wise counselor…

A mentor.

Because you point me to Jesus. Because you listen to me and let me cry on your shoulder, but then with sweet determination, pull me up and gently push me away to His feet. Because through you, God has spoken to my heart in comfort and correction. Because I see our Risen Savior in you. I pray He will continue to use you in beautiful ways as you reach out to those around you, anywhere, every where and always. You have such a huge capacity to love and serve, and God keeps growing it for His glory. I praise and thank Him for giving me the joy of having you in my life. Thank you Raspy!

I love you.

“However, true mentoring is more than just answering occasional questions or providing ad hoc help. It is about an ongoing relationship of learning, dialogue, and challenge.”

Leave a Reply

